Keeping in Step with the Spirit

16 But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law. 19 Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, 20 idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, 21 envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. 22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. 24 And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  -Galatians 5:16-24 (ESV)

The life of a Christ-follower proves to be filled with challenges. One could make merely a cursory review of the Apostle Paul’s epistles to see some examples of these challenges. Perhaps the word “battles” would be more appropriate. Paul, in the seventh chapter of Romans, speaks of “another law” in his members “waging war against the law of [his] mind” (Rom 7:23). He refers to this constant struggle against sin whereby he labors to do good in the face of fierce opposition. I must confess: I can sympathize with his struggle. I often find myself engaged in a battle wherein I know what is right. I know what is good. It is precisely at this moment, however, that I am opposed most vigorously by the enemy of my soul. So how does one navigate through this battlefield victoriously?

Paul poses this important question in verse twenty-four. He states, “Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” Paul then answers his own question in the first portion of verse twenty-five. He concludes, “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” He elaborates in the first two verses of Chapter eight, saying, “There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death” (emphasis mine). This mention of the Spirit becomes crucial to the believer’s spiritual battle plan. This plan is brought into specific relief in Paul’s inspired words to the Galatians.

How can one say no to the sinful desires of the flesh in favor of the glorious desires of the indwelling Spirit of God? The believer must walk by the Spirit. In other words, the believer must daily, hourly, even minute by minute, make a conscious decision to submit to the power and leadership of the Holy Spirit. This is how one is able to “walk by the Spirit,” as Paul says in Galatians 5:16. This volitional act is facilitated by continually and consistently feasting on the riches of the Word of God. Foolish indeed would be the believer who presumed he could “walk by the Spirit” without daily taking up the “sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God” (Eph 6:17). I firmly believe a direct correlation exists between one’s personal devotional habits and one’s ability (or empowerment) to “walk by the Spirit,” thus experiencing the victory secured by the blood of Christ on their behalf.

I base this firm belief on the truth of Scripture, but also on my own personal experience. I have found, in a very real and practical sense, I am most equipped to face the daily battles with sin when I have spent the most time feasting on the abundant riches of Scripture. Conversely, I have found I am ill-equipped to face the daily battles with sin when I have spent the least time in the Word of God. I can tell you from personal experience how heart-breaking and gut-wrenching it is to choose the lie of sin over the truth of Christ. I suspect, while reading this blog post, you have called to mind unfortunate instances in your own life in which you “have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God” (Rom 3:23). Moments such as these are no fun.

The stark contrast Paul describes between the works of the flesh and the fruit of the Spirit (Gal 5:19-23) should give us sufficient motivation toward obedience. The works of the flesh only result in condemnation and separation from God. Paul explains, “Those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God” (Gal 5:21b). There is no law, however, against the fruit of the Spirit since there is no law against living a godly life. The bookends framing this passage of Scripture are quite instructive toward keeping in step with the Spirit. To walk by the Spirit provides a great benefit to the believer. Paul explains, “Walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh” (Gal 5:16). God calls each believer to demonstrate their faith and repentance in word and deed. While this sounds like a herculean task, we must remember by whose power we are strengthened to walk by the Spirit in the first place.

Paul ends this passage by reminding the believer of the forensic truth of Christianity. He concludes, “Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires” (Gal 5:24). You may be wondering, “When have I ‘crucified’ my flesh?” I am glad you asked. Paul already reminded the believer of their standing before God in Christ. He declares, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me” (Gal 2:20).

Take heart, believer. You have been crucified with Christ.

Walk by the Spirit. Live in His victory.

By His grace and for His glory,

Mike. Out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mike, Scripture

Leave a Reply

